top of page
Search

Fall In Love With Malta Through An Artist’s Lens


You’ll want to take Malta out for a romantic 5-star meal, and even reach for the bill, after experiencing Love Malta – a photography exhibition by Fritz Grimm.

The 41-year-old German-born photographer, who has lived in Malta for the past five years, has spent the last two capturing Malta and Gozo’s captivating landscapes.

Fritz’s impressive collection will be on display at Palazzo de Piro in Mdina, Malta, between 12th and 29th June; and between 1st and 31st July, at the Citadel in Victoria, Gozo.

The snaps showcase Malta’s spellbinding scenery – including the much loved and missed Azure Window.

He said: “Malta has given me the opportunity to truly unleash the artist within me; its rugged scenery and countryside inspire me continually.

“I love heading out to meditate and being at one with the landscape, and I felt it was time I gave something back to this beautiful country that has given me so much.”

Fritz, who took up photography 10 years ago, will be showing off his photographs on 1.8m x 1.2m canvases in ultra HD, mounted under acrylic glass.

True to his word, the photographer will be giving back to Malta as he intends to donate most of the pictures to museums and galleries across Malta and Gozo after the exhibition.

Liana Waeckerli, who is organizing Fritz’s exhibition, explained: “It takes great sensitivity and talent to capture this kind of magic.”

She added: “This is an exhibition by someone who loves Malta but didn’t grow up in it, which gives these portraits of instantly-recognisable places a whole new angle and perspective that would be hard for any local to capture.

“It’s the Malta you love, but through a new set of eyes, if you will!”

As well as showing off the beauty of Malta, Fritz wants the pictures to pose as a warning – showing what Malta has to lose.

He said: “I want this exhibition to raise more awareness to help preserve Malta’s beauty and not destroy it with too many buildings and waste.”

When asked if he had advice for people interested in going into photographic art, Fritz said:

“Keep on shooting, it is like cycling, the more you shoot the better you will become by time.

“Photography is like everything else - a journey, and I think I will be never able to say that I have manifested a style.

“My style changes, I can see where I have improved over the years and be the most critical person when it comes to my own work.”

Looking Grimm


103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page